You are here

Fay's favorites


Can You Forgive Her? Cover Image
By Anthony Trollope, Stephen Wall (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780140430868
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 30th, 1975

What a treat!
Trollope's mid-Victorian novel of love, politics and social class is surprisingly
contemporary: in love, the age-old dilemma between marrying the more exciting, if
ne'er-do-well, suitor over the more upright, stable and wealthy
lover; in politics, the
price of becoming an MP, both financially and morally, and the
machinations of appointments to
upper levels of government. All this is set against the backdrop
of social striving
within a rigid class system. Alice Vavasor's vacillations are
mirrored by those of her silly
but wise Aunt Greenow and her snobbish cousin Lady Glencora, married to the scion of a
wealthy and influential family.

Will Alice marry steadfast John Grey?

Will Aunt Greenow
marry striving farmer Cheesacre?

Will Glencora run off with ex-lover Burgo?

Trollope's
wit produces often laugh-out-loud scenes, as we discover the wisdom or
folly of ultimate choices. Enjoy!

 

~Fay


On Gold Mountain: The One-Hundred-Year Odyssey of My Chinese-American Family Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307950390
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books - February 7th, 2012

This is the story of Lisa See's family: of her great-grandfather's immigration in the 1870s from a Chinese village to California and his improbable rise as a successful. businessman; of his forbidden interracial marriage to See's Caucasian grandmother; of the family's journey throughout the 20th century in Los Angeles' Chinatown. As a skilled storyteller, Ms. See offers drama, tension, and a compelling characterization to her memoir, incorporating family stories with historical detail drawn from contemporaneous journalism. Best known for her successful historical novels (Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, Shanghai Girls, among others), this earlier volume, published in 1995, is a fast paced and compelling read. We in the East often forget the parallel history that occurred "out West". Become more enlightened with On Gold Mountain.


Shantaram Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312330538
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 1st, 2005

First, don't be deterred by the heft of this book. Every page is worth it! This fictionalized account of the author's journey through the netherworld of Bombay in the '70s/'80s is wild, funny, poignant, sometimes terrifying, often dangerous, and totally engrossing. The narrator known as “Lin” escapes from an Australian prison and makes his way to Bombay, a fugitive in an unfamiliar land. His new friends run the gamut from slum dwellers living in the most abject conditions to powerful leaders of the Bombay mafia. Lin lives and works among them all, opening a free medical clinic to heal those in need while dealing all manner of illegal substances. Reviewers have described the book as “thrilling”, “inspired storytelling”, and “one of the most gripping tales of personal redemption you'll ever read.” I heartily concur and envy your sitting down with this novel for the first time.

~ Fay


Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812980882
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - January 24th, 2012

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, Gabrielle Hamilton offers an entertaining and worthy contribution to the genre of chef memoir. How did this product of an unconventional childhood in the “wilds” of the PA/NJ border develop the passion, grit and skills to become the successful chef/owner of a successful Manhattan restaurant? As with many chefs her journey consists of improbable twists and turns both funny and appalling. We could all wish to share her wonderful mother-in-law. Hamilton's tale is told with heart and imagination, and wit. I'm still trying to score a table for her famous brunch at Prune.

~Fay