Operation Sisterhood (Hardcover)

Operation Sisterhood Cover Image
$16.99
usually available in 3-7 days

January/February 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“Oh. My. Goodness. My heart just could not take the kindhearted core of this book. It’s fantastic! I’ll be recommending to fans of A Soft Place to Land and The Babysitters Club.”
— Hannah Oxley, Mystery to Me, Madison, WI

Description


Fans of the Netflix reboot of The Babysitters Club will delight as four new sisters band together in the heart of New York City. Discover this jubilant novel about the difficulties of change, the loyalty of sisters, and the love of family from a prolific award-winning author.

"[A] jubilant middle grade novel." -The New York Times
 
Bo and her mom always had their own rhythm. But ever since they moved to Harlem, Bo’s world has fallen out of sync. She and Mum are now living with Mum’s boyfriend Bill, his daughter Sunday, the twins, Lili and Lee, the twins' parents…along with a dog, two cats, a bearded dragon, a turtle, and chickens. All in one brownstone! With so many people squished together, Bo isn’t so sure there is room for her. 
 
Set against the bursting energy of a New York City summer, award-winning author Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich delivers a joyful novel about a new family that hits all the right notes!
 
“This ode to Black girlhood and the communities that serve them offers humor, tenderness, and charm.” –Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

“A beautiful, rich, and deeply comforting story about family and the powerful choice to live with joy, Operation Sisterhood is a book to savor.” –Rebecca Stead, New York Times bestselling author

About the Author


Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich is the author of 8th Grade Superzero, It Doesn't Take a Genius, the nonfiction books Above and Beyond: NASA’s Journey to Tomorrow and Someday Is Now: Clara Luper and the 1958 Oklahoma City Sit-Ins, and the upcoming Mae Makes a Way and Saving Earth: The Climate Crisis and the Fight for Our Future. She is the coauthor of the middle-grade novel Two Naomis, which was nominated for an NAACP Image Award, and its sequel, Naomis Too. Inspired by some of her favorite family stories and the city she loves, Operation Sisterhood is a celebration of the sweetness and spice of sisterhood. Olugbemisola is a member of the Brown Bookshelf and a former board member of We Need Diverse Books. She lives with her family in New York City, where she writes, makes things, and needs to get more sleep. Discover more about Olugbemisola online at olugbemisolabooks.com.

Praise For…


"An absolutely delightful and joyful book about the power of community and sisterhood! Rhuday-Perkovich is a master story teller whose characters jump off the page and burrow deep into your heart." –Ellen Oh, author of Finding Junie Kim

"Rhuday-Perkovich's love letter to New York City is brimming with heartwarming moments....A loving display of family and community." –Kirkus Reviews

"Readers looking for books with positive depictions of blended families and Black girlhood will enjoy this title." –Booklist

"In this sweet and comforting middle-grade novel, a tween girl deals with the changes that come along with being a part of a new blended family." -Shelf Awareness

"This eclectic celebration of Black joy, community, learning, and sisterhood is perfect for fans of Kelly Yang or Aisha Saeed." –School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593379899
ISBN-10: 0593379896
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 4th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English