The Agathas (An Agathas Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

The Agathas (An Agathas Mystery #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 26 1:21pm
(800 - YOUNG ADULT)

Description


INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks it’s the wrong guy. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and Riverdale can’t miss this page-turning who-done-it that’s sure to be the next must read Young Adult thriller!

Last summer, Alice Ogilvie’s basketball-star boyfriend Steve dumped her. Then she disappeared for five days. She's not talking, so where she went and what happened to her is the biggest mystery in Castle Cove. Or it was, at least. But now, another one of Steve’s girlfriends has vanished: Brooke Donovan, Alice’s ex–best friend. And it doesn’t look like Brooke will be coming back. . .
 
Enter Iris Adams, Alice’s tutor. Iris has her own reasons for wanting to disappear, though unlike Alice, she doesn’t have the money or the means. That could be changed by the hefty reward Brooke’s grandmother is offering to anyone who can share information about her granddaughter’s whereabouts. The police are convinced Steve is the culprit, but Alice isn’t so sure, and with Iris on her side, she just might be able to prove her theory.
 
In order to get the reward and prove Steve’s innocence, they need to figure out who killed Brooke Donovan. And luckily Alice has exactly what they need—the complete works of Agatha Christie. If there’s anyone that can teach the girls how to solve a mystery it’s the master herself. But the town of Castle Cove holds many secrets, and Alice and Iris have no idea how much danger they're about to walk into.

About the Author


Kathleen Glasgow is the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces, How to Make Friends with the Dark, and You'd Be Home Now. She lives and writes in Tucson, Arizona.

Liz Lawson is the author of The Lucky Ones (2020), which was a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2020. She lives outside of Washington DC with her family and two bratty cats.
 

Praise For…


“Full of twists, mysteries, and so much heart, The Agathas will keep you up late guessing who-exactly-dunit. Perfect for readers who like their thrillers with an extra dose of fun!” —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows
 
With all the twists and turns of a classic Agatha Christie novel, told through a delightful and engaging contemporary lens, The Agathas is impossible not to devour. Perfect for mystery lovers everywhere.” —Rachael Lippincott, coauthor of All This Time and the #1 New York Times bestseller Five Feet Apart

A propulsive mystery starring two unlikely friends who give Nancy Drew a run for her money. With a totally satisfying and surprising ending, The Agathas is so, so much fun.” —Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They’ll Never Catch Us and They Wish They Were Us

A twisty missing-girl mystery with two sharp-witted teen detectives you’ll instantly root for. Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson, Karen M. McManus, and Kara Thomas!” —Kit Frick, author of I Killed Zoe Spanos and Very Bad People

This whip-smart novel had me hooked from page one, with wisecracking teen detectives, Agatha Christie references galore, and a killer mystery. I freakin’ loved this book, and in my opinion, Alice Ogilvie and Iris Adams can definitely sit with Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars at lunch.” —Kate Williams, author of the Babysitters Coven series and Never Coming Home

"Part Agatha Christie, part Veronica Mars, and completely entertaining." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Of Us Is Lying

Fast-paced and full of twists. You’ll be hooked on this mystery from the first page to the last. Agatha Christie would be proud.” —Caleb Roehrig, author of The Fell of Dark and A Werewolf in Riverdale

“A clever plot that kept me guessing till the end. The Agathas is an absolutely addictive read!” —June Hur, author of The Forest of Stolen Girls and The Red Palace

"Full of witty writing, banter, and adventure...readers will delight at the girls’ creative ways of drawing upon Agatha Christie to solve Castle Cove’s biggest head-scratcher of all time." —Booklist

"It’s smart, it’s twisty, it’s layered, and it’s not predictable…I highly recommend this engrossing read and already need to see what mystery Iris and Alice will tackle next." —School Library Journal

"The mystery thrills and gratifies thanks to escalating stakes and devastating reveals." —Publishers Weekly

"Positively aboil with secrets." —Kirkus
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593431115
ISBN-10: 0593431111
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: An Agathas Mystery