Behind a Mask: The Unknown Thrillers Of Louisa May Alcott (Paperback)

Behind a Mask: The Unknown Thrillers Of Louisa May Alcott Cover Image
Special Order - may be out of print


Six years before she wrote Little Women, Louisa May Alcott, in financial straits, entered "Pauline's Passion and Punishment," a novelette, in a newspaper contest. Not only did it win the $100 prize, but, published anonymously, it marked the first in the series of "blood & thunder tales" that would be her livelihood for years.

In Behind a Mask, editor Madeleine Stern introduces four Alcott thrillers: "Pauline's Passion and Punishment," "The Mysterious Key," "The Abbot's Ghost," and the title story, "Behind a Mask." First published in one volume in 1975, they are regarded as Alcott's finest work in this genre.

About the Author

Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888) is the author of the beloved Little Women, which was based on her own experiences growing up in New England with her parents and three sisters. More than a century after her death, Louisa May Alcott's stories continue to delight readers of all ages.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780688151324
ISBN-10: 0688151329
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: February 14th, 1997
Pages: 320
Language: English