Maple's Theory of Fun (Hardcover)

Maple's Theory of Fun By Kate McMillan, Ruthie Prillaman, Kate McMillan (Illustrator), Ruthie Prillaman (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kate McMillan, Ruthie Prillaman, Kate McMillan (Illustrator), Ruthie Prillaman (Illustrator)
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jul 14 9:23am
(811 - MIDDLE GRADE GRAPHICS)

Description


Perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Emmie & Friends, this first book in a diary-style illustrated middle grade series follows an anxious, science-minded sixth grader determined to become fun and win back her friend.

Sixth grade has been pretty disaster-free for aspiring astronaut Maple McNutt—which is impressive, given the number of worries and possible catastrophes that run through her head every day. (So far, Earth hasn’t been devoured by a black hole and a cockroach hasn’t crawled out of her toothpaste mid-squeeze. Phew!) But then her best friend of seven-point-two years, Sunny Gwon, accuses her of being unfun and starts hanging around with a new group of friends.

In order to win Sunny back, Maple decides to undergo a serious scientific transformation to become fun by 1. Doing extensive research, 2. Applying research to self, and and 3. Repeating until fun. It’s risky and groundbreaking research, but Maple has no choice if she wants to save her friendship.

About the Author


Kate McMillan grew up in Houston, Texas, illustrating and writing stories in the world’s tiniest font. She studied architecture at Yale and boatbuilding in Norway before making her way to Los Angeles to start a career as a concept artist in animation. She has worked for studios including DreamWorks and Disney TV, where she gets to make up worlds every day. In her free time, she enjoys building furniture, scouring the sidewalks of LA for scraps to build said furniture, and drawing wobbly buildings that look like they might fall down.

Ruthie Prillaman is a writer and musician from Potomac, Maryland. After a childhood full of reading books and playing in extremely niche rock bands, Ruthie studied English at Yale and received her MFA in screenwriting from University of Southern California. Since completing her studies, her creative career has spanned theater, documentary, classical music, opera, and film. She currently lives in Los Angeles where she writes for television. Outside of work, she enjoys sewing new clothes, writing music with her brother, and cooking Hungarian goulash in her traditional goulash pot.

Kate McMillan grew up in Houston, Texas, illustrating and writing stories in the world’s tiniest font. She studied architecture at Yale and boatbuilding in Norway before making her way to Los Angeles to start a career as a concept artist in animation. She has worked for studios including DreamWorks and Disney TV, where she gets to make up worlds every day. In her free time, she enjoys building furniture, scouring the sidewalks of LA for scraps to build said furniture, and drawing wobbly buildings that look like they might fall down.

Ruthie Prillaman is a writer and musician from Potomac, Maryland. After a childhood full of reading books and playing in extremely niche rock bands, Ruthie studied English at Yale and received her MFA in screenwriting from University of Southern California. Since completing her studies, her creative career has spanned theater, documentary, classical music, opera, and film. She currently lives in Los Angeles where she writes for television. Outside of work, she enjoys sewing new clothes, writing music with her brother, and cooking Hungarian goulash in her traditional goulash pot.

Praise For…


"The chatty tone, inviting layout, and humorous voice will draw readers in and keep them entertained... Likely to inspire fun and creativity."
— Kirkus Reviews 

"Via Maple’s journal—rendered in prose bursting with personality—debut creators McMillan and Prillaman tenderly balance Maple’s fears of losing a friend with outrageously silly scenes, inventions, and dialogue. Simple b&w cartoon-style illustrations permeate a heartfelt series opener that accentuates the joy of experimentation as experienced by winning, memorable characters."
— Publishers Weekly 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781665941037
ISBN-10: 1665941030
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Maple