Louisa May Alcott: Little Women, Little Men, Jo's Boys (LOA #156) (Library of America Louisa May Alcott Edition #1) (Hardcover)

Louisa May Alcott: Little Women, Little Men, Jo's Boys (LOA #156) (Library of America Louisa May Alcott Edition #1) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 16 9:18pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Library of America Louisa May Alcott Edition series.


The beloved March family trilogy—presented in one “single, beautifully crafted volume” featuring original illustrations (John Matteson, Pulitzer Prize–winning author)
From the incidents of her own remarkable childhood, Louisa May Alcott fashioned a trilogy of novels that catapulted her to fame and fortune and that remain among the most beloved works in all of American literature. Here, in an authoritative single-volume edition restoring Alcott’s original text as well as her sister May (the original of Amy)’s illustrations, is the complete series.
Set in a small New England town during the Civil War and Reconstruction, Little Women introduces Alcott’s remarkable heroines, the March sisters—above all, her alter ego Jo March, with her literary ambition and independent spirit. The follow-up, Little Men, follows Jo into adulthood and marriage as she finds herself the caretaker of a houseful of rambunctious children at Plumfield School. Jo’s Boys returns to Plumfield a decade later; now grown, Jo’s children recount adventures of their own.
At once heartwarming and true to life, Alcott’s novels will continue to win over readers both young and old, as they have for generations.
LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation’s literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America’s best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.

About the Author

Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888) was a prolific writer, author of more than two dozen novels and story collections, including the beloved Little Women trilogy.  She served brielfy as a nurse during the Civil War, and was a passionate advocate for social reforms throughout her life.

Elaine Showalter
, editor, is Professor of English and Avalon Foundation Professor of the Humanities Emerita at Princeton University. She has written many books, including A Literature of Their Own: British Women Novelists from Bronte to Lessing (1977) and A Jury of Her Peers: American Women Writers from Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx (2009), and edited Alternative Alcott (1988).

Praise For…

"The Library of America has done a great service to Alcott lovers and nineteenth-century literature scholars alike by bringing Louisa May Alcott's March family trilogy together in a single, beautifully crafted volume. Insightfully edited by the incomparable Elaine Showalter, this is the best combined presentation of Little Women, Little Men, and Jo's Boys that we could possibly have asked for." — John Matteson, author of the Pulitzer Prize–winning Eden's Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Father
Product Details
ISBN: 9781931082730
ISBN-10: 1931082731
Publisher: Library of America
Publication Date: February 17th, 2005
Pages: 1045
Language: English
Series: Library of America Louisa May Alcott Edition